Akwa United began the 2020-21 season with a goalless draw at home against city rival Dakkada FC on Monday, December 28, 2020.

Six days later, the team suffered a 1-0 loss at Enugu Rangers in their first away tie of the season.

Ndifreke Effiong’s double inspired Akwa United to a 2-1 win over visiting Abia Warriors on matchday three, as the Promise Keepers registered their first win of the season.

The Promise Keepers were held to two successive 1-1 draws by Kwara United and Wikki Tourists at home and away on matchday four and five respectively, and was followed by a 2-1 loss at Heartland, despite a first half lead through Mfon Udoh.

The team enjoyed a three-match unbeaten run which saw them beat Kano Pillars 1-nil at home, Adamawa United with the same margin in Yola, and resounding 3-0 home bashing of Katsina United in a matchday nine tie on February, 2, 2021, before Nasarawa United ended the short streak with a 2-1 at Lafia on February 14.

The Promise Keepers would go on to set a new league record of 18-match unbeaten run, which began with a 1-0 home win over Plateau United on matchday 11 and culminated in a 2-0 win over visiting Adamawa United in a matchday 29 fixture.

During these period, the Kennedy Boboye led team have transformed into a formidable unit and settled on the top of the log.

However, On Sunday, June 27, 2021 Katsina United halted Akwa United record unbeaten run, following a 1-0 loss at the Muhammadu Dikko Stadium, but the team quickly returned to winning ways four days later, beating Nasarawa United 2-1 to exact revenge on the north central club.

Building on the momentum, the Promise Keepers held Plateau United to a goalless draw in Jos and established a two-point gap over second and third-placed teams Nasarawa United and Kano Pillars, respectively, with the Lafia club prevailing with superior goal difference.

On Sunday, July 11, 2021, Akwa moved five points clear at the top of the NPFL Log, after Charles Atshimene converted a stoppage time spotkick to hand Akwa 1-nil home victory over Enyimba.

Going into match-day 33 with a massive five points lead on top of the log, Akwa United picked a vital point in Port Harcourt, following a 1-1 draw with Rivers United on Sunday 18th July, 2021.

The Promise Keepers returned the Nest of Champions on match-day 34 on 21st July 2021 to thrash Warri Wolves 3-0, with club’s leading scorer Charles Atshimene netting a brace either side of Ubong Friday’s 25th minute strike.

Coach Kennedy Boboye’s team completed their double home fixture with another 3-0 bashing of relegation-threatened Jigawa Golden Stars on 25th July, 2021. Goals from assistant captain Ubong Friday, striker Charles Atshimene and winger Wisdom Fernando sealed the win on match-day 35.

The Promise Keepers made a four-hours trip to Nnewi on match-day 36, where they were held to a 1-1 draw by the home side, FC Ifeanyi Ubah. Ifejiofor cancelled out Ubong Friday’s 77th minute opener as both teams share the spoils. The result put Akwa United within a touching distance of winning their first-ever NPFL title.

The two-time Federation Cup champions returned to Uyo on August 1st 2021, knowing that a point against MFM of Lagos will be enough for them to be crowned NPFL champions.

The Promise Keepers responded in style with a master-class performance by thrashing the Lagos based club 5-2, with striker Charles Atshimene netting a hat-trick to level up his goal tally with Nasarawa United’s Silas Nwankwo on 18 goals each. Also goals from iconic striker Mfon Udoh and an own goal by MFM defender Adebayo secured the big win for Akwa United as they became 2020/2021 NPFL Champions for the first time in their 25-year history.

The Promise Keepers ended their season with a 2-1defeat to Lobi Stars. Charles Atshimene netted from the spot either side of Chinonso Okonkwo’s strike and Austin Ogunye’s penalty to take his tally to 19 goals in 27 matches and became the first player to score 19 goals for Akwa United in a single season, finishing joint-top scorer with Silas Nwankwo of Nasarawa United.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here