Super Eagles will continue training at the Moshood Abiola Stadium on Sunday evening after completing the morning session, reports.

The training will take place at 5pm with Covid-19 protocols to be fully observed.

Interim manager, Augustine Eguavoen, is happy with the players’ commitment and desire to win the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) competition.

Eguavoen announced the team squad for the tournament, which included many top players like Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Taiwo Awoniyi, Odion Ighalo, Samuel Chukwueze and Ahmed Musa.

Nigeria team consists of:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC, Nigeria); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic)

The Nigeria senior team was drawn alongside Egypt, Sudan and Guinea Bissau in Group D and they will face Pharoahs on January at the opening game of the pool.

Super Eagles’ last participation at the tournament was in 2019 and the team placed third.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here