Nigeria got their international window off under Portuguese boss Jose Peseiro to a negative start, bowing to a 2-1 loss against Mexico on Sunday morning.

Though Nigeria failed to qualify for this year’s World Cup, the Super Eagles are ramping up preparations for the 2023 AFCON Qualifiers, with this being the first of two friendlies in US.

Santiago Gimenez opened the scoring for a makeshift Mexico squad in the 12th minute, with Gerardo Martino using the second half primarily as an opportunity to integrate Diego Lainez and Edson Alvarez from the bench.

In front of a healthy crowd in Texas, William Troost-Ekong’s own-goal in the 56th minute eventually proved the difference between the two sides, only two minutes after Cyriel Dessers equalised for Nigeria.

Super Eagles XI: 23 Francis Uzoho, 6 Semi Ajayi, 5 William Troost-Ekong, 21 Calvin Bassey, 20 Chidozie Awaziem, 4 Innocent Bonke, 10 Joe Aribo, 19 Terem Moffi, 9 Cyriel Dessers, 15 Moses Simon, 18 Alex Iwobi.

Subs: 1 Adeyinka Adewale, 14 Ibrahim Buhari, 16 Olorunleke Ojo, 17 Ishaq Rafiu, 7 Sani Faisal, 8 Chiamaka Madu, 3 Bello Martins, 12 Victor Mbaoma


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here