In the buildup to the Gubernatorial election, 26 former players and officials of Bayelsa United have decided to take advantage of the uncertainties leading up to the elections, to throw the state into chaos

These are aggrieved footballers who after exhausting every available means of making government see to their plight by paying their outstanding sign-on fees and bonuses, have now decided to take the laws into their hands.

Majority of these players, where part of the Bayelsa United team that lost in the Quarter final of the 2014 Federation Cup

After over eight years of patient wait, these footballers who have now moved on to other clubs for improved welfare and standards, have now decided to stage a peaceful protest in front of Government house, Yenagoa, on Friday March 17, one day before the state Gubernitorial election.

We are now at a point of no return says Saloman Junior, captain of the 2014 team.

“We have tried all we could to get the attention of the state Governor Douye Diri through the Commissioner of Sports in the state, Daniel Igali, but all appeals made through him, have fallen on deaf ears. We are not asking the state to compensate us for all the good work we did as players of Bayelsa United, all we are saying is, pay us our outstanding sign-on fees and bonuses. This is our entitlement and we will not let anyone take it away from us” he stressed.

Of the 26 affected, only Chukwuma Ifeanyi has the least outstanding sign-on fee of 1.6m naira, while assistant coach Richard Bubagha is the worst hit, as he is owed 5.4m naira by the Bayelsa state government, owners of Bayelsa United football Club.

Below is the full list of affected players and all their outstanding sign-on fees and bonuses.

1. Ike Gabriel: 3.6m
2. Adeleye Olamilekan Aniyikaye: 3.6m.
3. Odili Chukwuwedike Iyasele: 3.8m
4. Mutiu Adegoke : 3.6m
5. Olufemi Oladapo: 3.9m
6. Coach Richard Bubagha: 5.450m
7. Chigozie Christopher: 3m
8. Eric Frimpong : 4.5m
9. Tswanya : 3.4m
10. Jafar Buhari. : 3m
11.Opitoke Moses : 2.5m
12. Bashir Sheriff : 3.6m
13 Adams Eze Jonkay : 2.55m.
14. Bright Onyedikachi Uchechukwu : 3m
15. Saloman Junior: 4.7m
16. Anthony Abawula : 3.350M
17. Oduokpe Alexander Oghogho : 2.8m
18. Yekini Kazim : 3.1m
19. Alex Otakho Aghahowa. : 1.7m
20. Uche Ihuarulam : 2.5m
21. Obonyano Chuks Chukwuka.: 2.9m
22. Frank Egbarebva: 3.5m
23. Ambrose Vanzekin : 3.5m
24. Gambo Gideon. : 3.5m
25. Ebinepere Denco. 2.5m
26. Chukwuma Ifeanyi. 1.6m


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here